(CD) Bonny Light Horseman - Rolling Golden Holy

Release Date: 100722
Currently: In stock (2)
Please note: Shipping and In-Store pickup Options are Available at Checkout.

October 7 street date. Bonny Light Horseman's self-titled debut was a folk masterclass, reimagining centuries-old standards with effortless grace and wonder. Those Grammy-nominated, list-topping recordings not only suggested renewed possibilities for aging songbooks but also marked the arrival of a trio fully capable of reorienting the wider folk landscape. Still, if it felt at all like the work of some short-lived supergroup or a one-off diversion (it never was), "Rolling Golden Holy" rebuffs the notion with preternatural beauty and charm, and imagination.

These songs, all originals, follow the paths of the traditional tunes the band cherishes to new frontiers, the sounds and situations of history given the gravity and shape of now. These songs continually suggest and embody an unspoken continuum between traditional and modern folk. The band thrives in rendering fresh wisdom and insight from old models, whether scraps of ancient songs or the spark of entwined voices. Theirs is a space created for sharing, learning, singing, and playing as one.



1. Exile
2. Comrade Sweetheart
3. California
4. Summer Dream
5. Gone by Fall
6. Sweetbread
7. Someone to Weep for Me
8. Fleur de Lis
9. Fair Annie
10. Cold Rain and Snow
0 stars based on 0 reviews