(CD) Big Thief - Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe In You

Release Date: 021122
Currently: Out of stock... OR coming soon - see Release Date above (MM/DD/YY)
Please note: Already on order! Simply add this to your Wish List to be notified when more arrive!

February 11 street date. "Dragon New Warm Mountain I Believe in You" is a sprawling double-LP exploring the deepest elements and possibilities of Big Thief.

To truly dig into all that the music of Adrianne Lenker, Max Oleartchik, Buck Meek, and James Krivchenia desired in 2020, the band decided to write and record a rambling account of growth as individuals, musicians, and chosen family over 4 distinct recording sessions. They spent 5 months in creation, coming out with 45 completed songs. The most resonant of this material was edited down into the 20 tracks that make up "DNWMIBIY", a fluid and adventurous listen.

All 4 of these sessions, in their varied states of fidelity, style, and mood, when viewed together as one album seem to stand for a more honest, zoomed-out picture of lived experience than would be possible on a traditional, 12 song record. This was exactly what the band hoped would be the outcome of this kind of massive experiment. The attempt to capture something deeper, wider, and full of mystery, points to the inherent spirit of Big Thief. To support the new release Big Thief will be attempting to steer the dragon in Montreal (Olympia - April 18th) and Toronto (Massey Hall - April 19th).

0 stars based on 0 reviews