(CD) Dropkick Murphys - Okemah Rising

Release Date: 051223
Currently: In stock (1)
Please note: Shipping and In-Store pickup Options are Available at Checkout.

May 12 street date. Dropkick Murphys' history with Woody Guthrie dates back decades, from covering "Gonna Be A Blackout Tonight" on their 2003 album "Blackout", to using some of Guthrie's writing about Boston in their immortal hit "I'm Shipping Up To Boston".

On their 2022 album, "This Machine Still Kills Fascists", Dropkick Murphys crafted an entire record around the seminal American folk icon, bringing Guthrie's perennial jabs at life - many of which are from the 1940s and 50s - into the present, with the resulting music eerily relevant to today's world. "Okemah Rising" is the second and final installment of this collaboration, and the band bring it home with a bang. Whereas the goal of "This Machine Still Kills Fascists" was to raise consciousness, "Okemah Rising" intends to raise the roof. It may have one or two tender moments, but all in all it's much more of a party. But even a party record can have a message.


1. My Eyes Are Gonna Shine
2. Gotta Get to Peekskill (Feat. Violent Femmes)
3. Watchin the World Go By
4. I Know How It Feels
5. Rippin Up the Boundary Line (Feat. Jesse Ahern)
6. Hear the Curfew Blowin
7. Bring It Home (Feat. Jaime Wyatt)
8. When I Was a Little Boy (Feat. Jaime Wyatt)
9. Run Hitler Run
10. I'm Shipping Up to Boston - Tulsa Version
0 stars based on 0 reviews