(CD) Emahoy Tsege Mariam Gebru - Jerusalem

Release Date: 060923
Currently: Out of stock... OR coming soon - see Release Date above (MM/DD/YY)
Please note: Already on order! Simply add this to your Wish List to be notified when more arrive!

June 9 (CD). From beloved composer Emahoy Tsege Mariam Gebru, a revelatory new album of piano pieces, unreleased or virtually inaccessible until now.

Emahoy Tsege Mariam Gebru is a true original - an Ethiopian nun whose recordings have funded orphanages back home since the early 1960s. Her compositions and unique playing style live somewhere between Erik Satie, Debussy, liturgical music of the Coptic Ethiopian Church, and Ethiopian traditional music. It is some of the most moving piano music you will ever hear. This is the first archival release of the great composer's recordings since the "Éthiopiques" series reintroduced her music to the world in 2006. Drawn from original master tapes and a nearly impossible-to-find vinyl release, "Jerusalem" unveils profound new facets of Emahoy Gebru's performance and compositions. Newly remastered recordings pressed on 160g black vinyl, heavy jacket with reproduction of 1972 artwork, song notes by the artist.


1. Famine Disaster 1974
2. The Home of Beethoven
3. Jerusalem
4. Aurora
5. Quand la Mer Furieuse
6. Have You Seen Assayehegn?
7. Movement from Rainbow Sonata
8. Woigaye, Don't Cry Anymore
9. Farewell Eve
10. The Pilgrim Song
0 stars based on 0 reviews