(CD) Fruit Bats - The Pet Parade

Release Date: 030521
Currently: In stock (1)
Please note: Shipping and In-Store pickup Options are Available at Checkout.

"The Pet Parade", the title track to Fruit Bats' newest album, might be a surprising opening track for longtime fans of Eric D. Johnson's beloved indie folk-rock project. The six-and-a-half-minute tone poem smolders and drones over just two chords, inspired by the strange and silly community events that he saw growing up outside of Chicago, in La Grange, Illinois, in which people dressed up and showed off their pets. Decades later, "The Pet Parade" emerges in troubled times, living within what Johnson refers to as the beauty and absurdity of existence.

While many of the songs on "The Pet Parade" were actually written before the pandemic, it's impossible to disassociate the record from the times. As an example, producer Josh Kaufman (Bob Weir, The National, and Bonny Light Horseman, in which he plays with Johnson and Anaïs Mitchell) was brought in for his deep emotional touch and bandleading abilities. At times upbeat and reassuring and at times quietly contemplative, "The Pet Parade" marks a milestone for Johnson, who celebrates 20 years of Fruit Bats in 2021.



1 The Pet Parade 6:42
2 Cub Pilot 3:32
3 Discovering 4:35
4 The Balcony 4:09
5 Here For Now, For You 2:52
6 On The Avalon Stairs 3:11
7 Eagles Below Us 3:37
8 Holy Rose 4:52
9 All In One Go 3:13
10 Gullwing Doors 4:35
11 Complete 3:01
0 stars based on 0 reviews