(CD) Jamila Woods - Water Made Us

C$19.99 C$16.99
Release Date: 102723
Currently: In stock (1)
Please note: Shipping and In-Store pickup Options are Available at Checkout.

Delayed - October 27 street date. On her expansive new album "Water Made Us", Chicago musician and poet Jamila Woods shines anew as she asks the question, what does it mean to fully surrender into love? Across "Water Made Us", Jamila embraces new genres, playful melodies, and hypnotizing wordplay, as she wades through the exhilarating tumult of love's wreckage and refuge.

While 2017's "HEAVN" saw Jamila celebrating her community within a lineage of Black feminist movement organizing, and 2019's "Legacy! Legacy!" reframed her life's experiences through the storied personas of iconic Black and brown artists, "Water Made Us" is self-revelatory in an entirely new way, making this her most personal album yet. "Water Made Us" reminds us that at its best love is a warm, still ocean. Deep, shimmering, and endless in its wonder. And at its worst love can be a riptide that takes us so far away from ourselves we can hardly find our way back, hardly even remember how to swim. And yet Jamila surrenders to this surf, because maybe even the most painful endings can in fact be an invitation that calls her back home, back to shore, back to herself.


1. Bugs
2. Tiny Garden
3. Practice
4. Let the Cards Fall
5. Send a Dove
6. Wreckage Room
7. Thermostat
8. Out of the Doldrums
9. Wolfsheep
10. I Miss All My Exes
11. Backburner
12. Libra Intuition
13. Boomerang
14. Still
15. The Best Thing
16. Good News
17. Headfirst
0 stars based on 0 reviews