(CD) Spiritualized - Ladies and Gentlemen We are Floating In Space

Release Date: 091021
Currently: Out of stock... OR coming soon - see Release Date above (MM/DD/YY)
Please note: Already on order! Simply add this to your Wish List to be notified when more arrive!

The Spaceman Reissue Program edition of Ladies & Gentlemen We Are Floating In Space promises to give those recordings the fullest spectrum audio and physical treatment they’ve deserved since the original release. It will be the third in this series of 180g double albums with the lacquer cut from original sources by Alchemy Mastering, presented in a gatefold jacket adorned by reworked art by Mark Farrow.


1. Ladies and Gentlemen We Are Floating in Space
2. Come Together
3. I Think I'm in Love
4. All of My Thoughts
5. Stay with Me
6. Electricity
7. Home of the Brave
8. The Individual
9. Broken Heart
10. No God Only Religion
11. Cool Waves
12. Cop Shoot Cop...
| Timothy Hawkins 14-11-2023 20:42

Five years after they formed and after a few line-up changes, Jason Pierce led Spiritualized to their peak with Ladies and gentlemen we are floating in space. At 70+ minutes this release has been labeled many terms, all make sense but only to a degree. Space rock, neo-psychedelic experimental, garage soul rock, shoe gaze with colorful laces, gospel noise, no matter, how you hear these 12 songs, they are bolder yet meticulously chaotic and powerful as they balance vision that never loses focus.
From the opening telephone answer machine message, repeating the album’s title, Pierce lays his heart totally open, ‘all I want in life’s a little bit of love to take the pain away,’ the next 10 songs provide a deep dive into his psyche, for these songs are about finding a remedy for the heart and soul.
Drugs references are both subtle and obvious yet they are tastefully done. So much of this album creates the image, sensation and reality of the drug experience yet the music is sonically captivating by taking you there. Similar to the literary beauty of Heroin by the Velvet Underground, where the music sped up as the lyrical imagery got more and more intense, Pierce has created a beautiful epic illustration of raw emotions.
The trip ends with Cop shoot cop…as Pierce faces his demons, ‘there’s a hole in my arm where all the money goes’.
‘for aural administration only’, these words on the back cover only hint at the sound of perfection.

5 stars based on 1 reviews