(LP) Horace Silver Quintet - Further Explorations (Blue Note: Tone Poet Series)

Release Date: 092520
Currently: In stock (1)

Further Explorations documents hard-bop pioneer Horace Silver’s quintet featuring Art Farmer on trumpet, Clifford Jordan on tenor saxophone, Teddy Kotick on bass, and Louis Hayes on drums. One can always expect a Horace Silver date to groove, but this session from January 1958 is particularly inspired, with the pianist penning all but one of the compositions. “The Outlaw” is one of Silver’s most irrepressible creations with brilliant solos from Jordan, Farmer, and Silver. “Moon Rays” is what Silver referred to as a “walking ballad” that gives the band plenty of room to stretch out.


*Blue Note Records’ Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tape 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe gatefold packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI). 



A1 The Outlaw  
A2 Melancholy Mood  
A3 Pyramid  
B1 Moon Rays  
B2 Safari  
B3 Ill Wind
0 stars based on 0 reviews